CARNIVAL 2020: PART 1 – THE DRAMA

It’s January 19th 2020, but it’s been Carnival season since whatever day in December that Fuzion launched their costumes. I like Oshun, and the pink, flowered one – that’s really cute. I liked Xuvo’s red costume. As much as everybody is a fan of the orange madras one, I really can’t get on board just yet. 

Anyway, it’s 2020 and I’m still choosing costumes and not jumping Carnival. I expect somebody to spitefully question the validity of this blog post because I’m not a carnivalista. OH WELL. This is an opinion blog. 

My outside perspective of Carnival is fascinating. Let me tell you what I (and many of you) observed so far: 

  • St Lucian Carnival is growing – much to the dismay of others who are scared that the highway will be too small in a few years. I think that at the rate back pieces are growing, Carnival may be a single file line soon. 
  • The costumes are getting H-EXPENSIVE. Jesus cries indeed. Who would have thought your feather backpack would be a couple hundred US dollars. 
  • You’ve either been happy or presst because Jouvert may be injected with some new life
  • Some people think there are only three bands – Fuzion, Xuvo & J4F. Oops. 
  • Apparently, accommodation for Carnival is going quick, fast and in a hurry
  • Not even male costume options? Idk .. someone said men don’t care about the costumes
  • Where do the vaginas go? Also mentioned by someone that’s not me
  • A few days ago some people had the perception that some St Lucians were xenophobic and didn’t want ‘outsiders’ in local Carnival. Again I say, oops.
  • My friend calculated (don’t question me on her figures), that your full Carnival package including costume, hair, makeup, nails, shoes, transportation & fete tickets might cost somewhere close to 3K US. Ballin’2020. 
  • Gym owners should thank Carnival bands for added gym memberships. 

I also have some questions

  • Will Fuzion feed their revellers? 
  • Will Red have more up to date costumes? 
  • Will White Chocolate scale a bus stand?
  • How many backpieces will be trashed before the Sunny Acres roundabout? Remember how much you’re paying for that. 
  • Will foreigners complain the route is too long?
  • Will the police shut it down early? 
  • Will I have to work Carnival like last year? A lot of you were GONE in my interviews
  • What is Taboo’s theme?
  • Will Xuvo win this time after coming close last year?
  • WHERE ARE THE SONGS FOR 2020? Only ‘Best Side’? 
  • Will I ever jump? Can somebody just give me a costume and put me on a truck? Ugh

 

 

One thought on “CARNIVAL 2020: PART 1 – THE DRAMA

Leave a comment