Lucia’s 40th Independence

If it weren’t for work I would have spent Independence eve, and the day itself at home – in bed. Instead after spending 9 hours at finding and writing stories, I spent another 5 hours covering events in the city.

For the first time, I can give my own opinion of Independence activities in St. Lucia.

Adrian Augier’s production of ‘The St. Lucia Story’ was one of the best things that I have seen come out of a collaboration of local talent. Admittedly, its abstract nature went over my head more than once, and I cannot completely explain what portions of our history were being performed at some points. All the same, it was interesting to see a dramatization of local history void of any violence. For a country who emphasizes ‘7 times British, 7 time French’, there was no obvious indication of violence.

Most persons who viewed the military parade in the morning were impressed – generally by the dancing of the Police Band’s drum major. The Anou We-y parade in the afternoon was essentially Carnival 2.0.

It’s safe to say that Independence 40 was the biggest so far, and rightfully so. I’ve wondered how much money actually went into it, and similarly, how much time and effort was put into executing all of these events so well.

However, this is probably where the good points end. Other than the fact that the only national colours I owned were black and white, I did not feel the ‘independence spirit’ anywhere outside of Castries. The choice of scheduling every major activity in the city centre baffled me.

I also do not understand why there was a need for 2 separate flag-raising ceremonies at midnight on the 22nd. While St. Lucians filed down from Augier’s production to Heroes Park on the waterfront for the hoisting of a large flag (the right shade of blue might I add), specially invited guests of the government had descended on Pointe Seraphine. It seemed like an obvious separation of the bourgeoisie from regular folk across the water.

Despite it all, I can appreciate how most St Lucians came together despite the usual politics to celebrate 4 decades as a sovereign nation. The discussion of whether we’re better off since 1979 is for another day.

One thought on “Lucia’s 40th Independence

  1. Imo there should’ve been atleast one main activity somewhere other than Castries , also by the looks of it, alot was spent- maybe too much.

    Like

Leave a comment